Just another WordPress.com site

Contented

I have learnt to be contented with the little things life offers me. I have learnt to appreciate the opportunities that come along the way. I have learnt to smile on brighter days and to remain content when things are tough.
Sometimes problems come fast and furius like a storm set for destruction. But I have learnt that nothing is permanent and soon even the worst feeling will go away and lady luck will smile at me on her way.
I have learnt that some days are good and some days are bad. That things sometimes do not work as planned. But I remain contented. I have learnt that some people are luckier than others and do not have to work half as hard as I do. I have come to accept this reality of life.
I have learnt that some dates just go wrong and sometimes you end up saying things you did not mean or plan, but time often heals no matter how long, and the sadness and the pain soon drift away. I have learnt that friends are seasonal and you could lose a best friend without planning for it. But nature has a way of balancing and will always give you a new friend to lean on as circumstances and events unfold. I have learnt that I cannot please everybody and when my efforts and goodwill are abused and rejected, I am still content that some day, someone somewhere will appreciate me.

I have learnt that life is not about how hard you work or study but about being at the right place at the right time with the right person. That all promotions are not on merit but often with the right networking and right friends, the sky could be your very limit. Sometimes I do not have these powerful connections and I do not know a single person at State House. But I am content.

I have learnt that life could change in the split of a second. That my bubbly health and energy could just come to a standill when cancer strikes and HIV and Aids infect my body or when as I cross the road to work a car knocks me down and I am forced on a wheelchair for life. I have learnt that I could be in a car crash that could leave me bedridden for the rest of my life or I could get mentally deranged and get locked up in a mental hospital. But I am contented with what life gives me.

Oh yes, I have learnt that the best of your friend can betray you and talk ill of you but I have also learnt that some friends have a heart of gold and may stick closer than a brother. I have learnt that some people are self-righteous and judgemental, but as long as I do my best, I am content.

I have learnt that life is often unfair and that life does not have to treat me in  a special way but I have learnt to take whatever fate brings my way with grace. It happens to the best of us so I am content.

I have learnt that I may lose my job today and I could lose a husband to my best friend. I have learnt that the favours I may get from family or friends could be withdrawn in a split second. I have learnt to be contented with the little I have so when all these things happen, I will still have my own arm to lean on. This makes me content.

I have learnt that the best friends are within the family and as years come to a close and the sun sets, many a family will be there for you despite the squabbles and nasty words that were exchanged in your youth. I have learnt that the sins of our youth only make us stronger and prepares us for a better today. I have no regrets. I am content.

I have learnt that there is nothing special about me and life will not give me any special treatment and just because of this, I am content.

 

Leave a Reply

